The Congressional Fertilizer Caucus is a bipartisan coalition of Members of Congress who work together to support America’s fertilizer industry and the farmers they serve. It is co-chaired by Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA), Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN) and Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK). A full list of current caucus members is provided below, as well as a link to their official Congressional website.

The caucus works to educate their fellow policymakers and stakeholders about the important role fertilizers play in the agricultural sector and global food production mainly through four key topics.

  1. Environmental Stewardship: The fertilizer industry recognizes the importance of maintaining healthy ecosystems and has invested significant thought and resources into improving nutrient management with the 4R Nutrient Stewardship program. The program encourages applying the right source of nutrient at the right rate and right time in the right place.

  2. Safety and Security: A commitment to safety and security is paramount for the industry. ResponsibleAg is an industry-led initiative to ensure that the storage and handling of fertilizer products complies with all federal regulations.

  3. Transportation: The fertilizer industry depends year-round on a safe, reliable and cost-effective transportation network. The industry also actively participates in and sponsors initiatives to promote safety in transportation, including TRANSCAER and the Advanced Tank Car Collaborative Research Program.

  4. Economic Impact: The U.S. fertilizer industry contributes $130 billion to the U.S. economy annually. Fertilizer producers, wholesalers and retailers, along with the businesses that serve them, support 487,330 U.S. jobs with a total annual compensation of $34.31 billion.


 116th Congress: Congressional Fertilizer Caucus Members

Ralph Abraham (R-LA-5)                                             Trent Kelly (R-MS-1)

Rick Allen (R-GA-12)                                                    Ron Kind (D-WI-3)

Andy Biggs (R-AZ-5)                                                    Steve King (R-IA-4)

Rob Bishop (R-UT-1)                                                    Frank Lucas (R-OK-3)

Mike Bost (R-IL-12)                                                     Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO-3)

Ken Buck (R-CO-4)                                                      Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-20)

Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)                                                 Roger Marshall (R-KS-1)

Bradley Byrne (R-AL-1)                                                 John Moolenaar (R-MI-4)

Kathy Castor (D-FL-14)                                                Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-2)

James Comer (R-KY-1)                                                Collin Peterson (D-MN-7)

Dan Newhouse (R-WA-4)                                             Cedric Richmond (D-LA-2)

Michael Conaway (R-TX-11)                                       David Rouzer (R-NC-7)

Jim Costa (D-CA-7)                                                       Kurt Schrader (D-OR-5)

Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)                                                 Mike Simpson (R-ID-2)

Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-4)                                            Adrian Smith (R-NE-)

Russ Fulcher (R-ID-1)                                                    Ross Spano (R-FL-15

Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8)                                                Greg Steube (R-FL17)

Bob Gibbs (R-OH-7)                                                      Bennie Thompson (D-MS-2)

Paul Gosar (R-AZ-4)                                                      Glenn Thompson (R-PA-5)

Garret Graves (R-LA-6)                                                  Fred Upton (R-MI-6)

Sam Graves (R-MO-6)                                                   Steve Watkins (R-KS-2)

Brett Guthrie (R-KY-2)                                                   Bruce Westerman (R-AR-4)

Vicky Hartzler (R-MO-4)                                                Ted Yoho (R-FL-3)