The Fertilizer Institute Elects Robert P. Jornayvaz as Board Chairman, James T. Prokopanko as Vice Chairman

New Board Members Elected


February 19, 2010
New Board Members Elected

Washington, D.C. – The Fertilizer Institute (TFI) announced the election of Robert P. Jornayvaz III, chairman of the board and chief executive officer (CEO) of Intrepid Potash, Inc., to serve a two-year term as chairman of TFI’s Board of Directors. In addition, the board tapped James T. Prokopanko, president and CEO of The Mosaic Company, to serve a two-year term as vice chairman. The gavel was passed to Jornayvaz by outgoing chairman, and Terra Industries, Inc., President and CEO Michael L. Bennett, at a Feb. 9 board meeting held in conjunction with TFI’s 2010 Fertilizer Marketing Business Meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Jornayvaz has served as chairman of the board and CEO of Intrepid Potash, Inc. since its formation in November 2007 and served, directly or indirectly, as a manager of Intrepid Mining LLC from January 2000 until its dissolution in 2008. Intrepid Potash, Inc. was a subsidiary of Intrepid Mining LLC and acquired substantially all of its assets from Intrepid Mining LLC at the time of the IPO. Jornayvaz has 29 years of experience in the oil and gas industry and 11 years of experience in the potash industry.

Prokopanko is president and CEO of The Mosaic Company, the world’s leading producer and marketer of concentrated phosphate and potash. Mosaic was formed in 2004 through the combination of IMC Global Inc. and the crop nutrition business of Cargill, Incorporated.

New Board Elected

During TFI’s annual meeting, the following new board members were elected: Matt Carstens, United Suppliers, Inc.; Daryl Gates, Morral Companies, LLC; Dirk Lohry, Nutra-Flo Company; Billy Joe Miles, Miles Farm Supply, LLC; and Michael Stegmann, Lange-Stegmann Fertilizer Co.

These new board members join Farouk Chaouni, Agrifos Fertilizer, LP; Michael Wilson, Agrium, Inc.; Donald Ford, American Plant Food Corp.; Nicholas Adamchak, Ameropa North America, Inc.; Vladimir Nikolaenko, Belarusian Potash Company; Robert Brown, Calamco; Stephen Wilson, CF Industries; Cheryl Schmura, CHS, Inc.; Stanley Riemann, CVR Energy, Inc.; Steven Liebelt, Dakota Gasification; William Barnett, Dyno Nobel; David Benefield, Frit Industries; Brian Harlander, Gavilon Fertilizer; Ronald Bryan, Great Salt Lake Minerals; James Spradlin, GROWMARK; Qamar Bhatia, Honeywell Resins and Chemicals; Stephen Stallons, ICEC; Robert Jornayvaz, Intrepid Potash; George Porvaznik, Jeffersonville River Terminal; Melih Keyman, Keytrade AG; Carroll Kirby, Kirby Agri; Steve Packebush, Koch Fertilizer; Robert Jones, Mississippi Phosphates; William Doyle, PotashCorp; John Ambrose, Rentech Energy Midwest; William Whitacre, Simplot; Michael Bennett, Terra Industries, Inc.; Denny Addis, The Andersons, Inc.; James Prokopanko, The Mosaic Company; Ronald Stanton, Transammonia, Inc.; Gene Gauss, Wilbur-Ellis; Billy Willard, Willard Agri-Service of Frederick; and Pete Valesares, Yara North America, Inc. as members of TFI’s Board of Directors.

About the Fertilizer Institute

The Fertilizer Institute represents the nation’s fertilizer industry. Producers, wholesalers, retailers and trading firms which comprise its membership are served by a full time Washington, D.C., staff in various legislative, educational and technical areas as well as with information and public relations programs.